Acupuncture Stamford
Call 01780 763465
For More Information

Louise – How Lianne Aquilina of Aquilia Fertility Helped Me

22/10/15
At the time of meeting Lianne I was in quite a dark place, I had never known grief so strong as when I lost my babies. I was feeling pretty frustrated with my body’s inability to stay pregnant and I was struggling to be around other women who were pregnant. Whilst my GP was sympathetic, I was becoming increasingly frustrated and could feel myself spiralling.

After my third miscarriage, I started to research alternative therapies, which could help improve my fertility. A number of women recommended acupuncture, which led me to Lianne Aquilina. From the first phone call, Lianne took the time to fully understand my history and was sensitive to my situation. Lianne then went onto treat me for 5 months and I found the treatment and advice she gave me invaluable.

Lianne ensured I received the right care and investigations through the NHS, by empowering me with knowledge. This ultimately led to a diagnosis I would have otherwise not have received as quickly.

Lianne also carefully explained the benefits of acupuncture and how the treatments worked to optimise fertility during my monthly cycle. Following my miscarriages my cycle had lengthened. However within a couple of months of acupuncture I found that my cycle had regulated and ovulation times became more predictable.

It is clear Lianne cares about her patients and I felt I finally had someone I could talk openly with, without fear of judgement. 5 months on I am pregnant and have so far got the furthest with this pregnancy than ever before. I am truly grateful to Lianne for her support and believe her fertility review, and acupuncture treatment significantly improved my fertility, helped me to concieve and supported my early pregnancy.

Sophie – How Lianne Aquilina of Aquilia Fertility & IVF Helped Me

22/10/15
I have polycystic ovarian syndrome and my husband has poor sperm and a very low count. Being unable to have a baby is devastating but Lianne was so encouraging and really wanted my IVF treatment to work as much as I did. Lianne would take my pulse and look at my tongue to decide which acupuncture points to use each time for my acupuncture treatment.

I had acupuncture points in my head, wrists, legs and feet, plus some in my abdomen to prepare my eggs and womb for implantation. Lianne treated my husband to help improve the vitality of his sperm. Lianne helped us through 2 rounds of IVF treatment with ICSI, both times I started acupuncture a couple of months before I started IVF treatment. It was lovely to go every week, have a treatment and talk to her about what was going on, to get advice from someone who is knowledgeable and approachable.

We have our gorgeous son and daughter on the way thanks to Lianne and her acupuncture during both of our IVF treatments.

Joanne – How Lianne Aquilina of Aquilia Fertility & IVF Helped Me

22/10/15
Whilst struggling to fall pregnant for over three years, and after completing a course of ovulation treatment at peterborough hospital which did not help I read that acupuncture could assist, I therefore searched the web and found Lianne Aquilina. After having an initial consultation and fertility review whereby Lianne not only advised what she could do to support me, Lianne also shared diet, lifestyle and IVF tips and gave me acupuncture to help improve my fertility and optimise my chances of pregnancy.

My acupuncture treatment included preparation for IVF, full flexible support during the IVF treatment and early pregnancy support.

Lianne has a huge wealth of knowledge and experience regarding fertility problems and IVF which helped me to understand what was happening, she is an excellent listener and adviser. I was able to confide in her and looked forward to my weekly appointments.

I can not recommend Lianne enough to anyone who is struggling with their fertility and needs IVF.

Jody – How Lianne Aquilina of Aquilia Fertility & IVF Helped Me

22/10/15
We had been trying to conceive for more than 2 and a half years after I stopped taking the contraceptive pill. We had tried using ovulation sticks, researched all the usual methods, timings, diets etc. with not the slightest hint of getting pregnant. To add to the frustration, my GP did not share our concern at all despite me having a strong feeling something was not right because I was "only 31".

Deciding I would be willing to first try any natural aids for conception, I looked into acupuncture on the web and found Lianne Aquilina in Stamford. Upon contacting Lianne, she offered to sit down with me in her own time and go through what we had been doing, how long we had been trying etc. This was the first time I had spoken to anyone about how to best try for a baby in such detail apart from my husband and I already felt like a huge weight had been lifted.

Until this point I had been feeling totally helpless and hopeless, as though it is just so easy for everybody else in the world and that we were just destined to not have a family at all seeing as my own GP was unwilling to help.

After the fertility review Lianne gave me a list of some preliminary tests I should ask my doctor to arrange in order to get the ball rolling to find out why we hadn't conceived so far. This gave me the confidence to go in there and tell him what I wanted so he didn't just send me away again telling me "it'll happen soon... You're still young" .

I am so pleased we did.

I had the blood tests, which found I had an FSH level of 12, and the tube dye test discovered my tubes were clear but the tests found that I had a uterine septum.

This means due to the size of the septum in my uterus it would halt any foetus trying to grow and possibly cause recurring miscarriages. I was quickly referred for surgery.

It was at the consultant's before the operation to remove the septum that we were told that due to the slightly higher FSH level we would be put forward for IVF treatment on the NHS. We had our IVF treatment in Nottingham.

I had my operation to remove the septum, and then went for my 1st official consultation with Lianne Aquilina to start my acupuncture treatment in preparation for IVF. Lianne immediately made me feel at ease talking about the most personal things.

I saw her once a week at the stamford clinic from and I started my hormone treatment. Each session was a chance for me to relax and talk about how I was feeling throughout the process, emotionally as well as physically. From the soothing music and atmosphere, to helping me when I have been feeling anxious with extra pressure points, and invaluable advice regarding the options I have in the IVF process, Lianne has helped me to understand what I am going through, even when I have not been sure myself!

Her professional, friendly and forever positive advice throughout our treatment has been remarkable and I am delighted to say that less than a year after our initial meeting, we are celebrating looking forward to the birth of our miracle baby.

I can honestly say that we would not be in this amazingly exciting situation, that only 6 months ago felt like the impossible, without Lianne's help.

Penny – How Lianne Aquilina of Aquilia Fertility & IVF Helped Me

22/10/15
My husband and I suffered miscarriages and tried for 2 and a half years to have our daughter before going down the medical testing route and finally having IUI in Nottingham which worked the first time. We were diagnosed with having unexplained infertility (we are both healthy and are non smokers).

We never really stopped trying for another child after our daughter was born. When we still hadn't conceived by the time she was 3 we decided to book privately for a further round of IUI, which didn't work.

Rather than being given advice, on alternative ways to support conception, IVF was suggested to us by our doctor.

I decided to try ways to help improve my chances of IVF working and found Acupuncturist Lianne Aquilina in Stamford.

After a fertility review Lianne felt that I could conceive naturally. So she undertook a couple of acupuncture fertility boosting treatments and also advised us how to improve our chances of conceiving naturally.

I fell pregnant naturally that month and our baby is due in March 2014. Lianne also provided acupuncture to support my early pregnancy.

It's very difficult in a short summary to say how much Lianne helped us, she helped us get pregnant but more than that she became a great friend who I could talk to about anything we are eternally grateful.

Kelly - How Lianne Aquilina of Aquilia Fertility Helped Me

22/10/15
My Partner and I started trying for a baby in May 2010 and by August 2010 I had a positive pregnancy test. From then on my pregnancy was smooth sailing. Everything was completely text book so I guess I was considered to be low risk. Our baby was due April 16th 2011; however by this date there was still no arrival. We were back and forth to the midwife and then eventually when I was 10 days overdue I went in for an induction on Monday 25th April, 9pm. I remember that on the day we had been busy buying a few last minute bits, chatting with friends and generally feeling excited but nervous about our new arrival. Finally we got to the hospital and my partner was told to leave and would be called when things started moving.

As soon as he left the midwife strapped a monitor to me in order to listen to the baby’s heartbeat however she could only pick up mine. After swapping machines and still not getting any joy she asked me the dreaded question “When did you last feel the baby move”? and something inside me started to panic because I couldn’t remember. We’d been so busy that day and the baby never moved around much when I was active so I just didn’t know.

We then went down for a scan and I was told the heart breaking news that there was no heartbeat and our baby had died.

I cannot describe to you the panic, pain and devastation that I felt in that moment especially given that I was alone. As I’m sure you can imagine the following few hours were horrendous as firstly I had to call my partner back without letting him know anything was wrong and then tell him the bad news and then we had to tell friends and family.

After this we had to tackle the birth which was fairly traumatic for various reasons, one being that our son had shoulder dystocia and got stuck; plus he turned out to be 9lb 6 which was quite unexpected so I had a bit of trouble giving birth to him but eventually he arrived and despite it all he was beautiful.

Needless to say the next few months were dark ones however I am grateful every day that we managed to get through it together as a couple because looking back I can see how easy it would have been for us to shut down and drift apart.

Of course we now wanted children more than ever; especially since we were told that our son hadn’t died because of anything we had done or any type of medical condition. We were told we could try again as soon as we were ready and so we did. By October I was pregnant again; but by the middle of November I had started bleeding and subsequently suffered a miscarriage at approx. 6 weeks. We were again told that early miscarriages are very common and we should not worry. By December I was pregnant again however by the New Year I had suffered another miscarriage at 5 weeks.

It was around this time that I went to see a psychic and she advised me to have acupuncture so I found Lianne Aquilina on line and started to see her regularly. She was amazing. She listened to everything that had happened so far and explained what could be done from her point of view with acupuncture but not only that, she gave me hope and real practical advice. We also decided to see our doctor and request a referral to the hospital and by March we had an appointment with a consultant in Peterborough who specialised in this area. He wasn’t very sympathetic and was very quick to tell us there was nothing wrong with me; however he did run the standard tests which all came back ok. I remember asking him if perhaps my progesterone levels were low however he brushed this notion aside and told me no.

All around us we seemed to be surrounded by people having children successfully with no problems at all. We decided to go private and booked an appointment with Dr Gorgy in London. He was great; very helpful, very sympathetic but very expensive. By this stage it wasn’t about the money so we went ahead with his initial tests, which confirmed that my partner definitely didn’t have a problem his side; however I had results in regards to my immune system meaning my body was rejecting the embryo when it implanted and destroying it within a few weeks.

2013 began uneventfully and we were grateful. We had made a few lifestyle changes. I had given up my job in central London and decided to work locally and my partner took his foot of the gas at work also in the hope that we could just spend more quality time together and stay strong as a couple in order to face whatever may lay ahead.

Towards the end of last year I’d become obsessive in regards to getting pregnant. The bathroom was full of ovulation kits, pregnancy tests and fertility monitors. It was costing a lot of money, a lot of time and all of my energy but I couldn’t just ‘forget it’ as people often tell you to. By March I still wasn’t pregnant so of course I started to think I was now infertile. My obsession threatened to take over, but I changed my focus back to our local hospital.

I was able to talk to Lianne about my latest crusade and see if it was advisable or not. I began acupuncture treatment to promote my fertility and help me to concieve. We continued trying and every month I wasn’t pregnant was difficult but finally it started to become a little less painful and then in July I saw that one word that dominated my world appear on a stick ‘pregnant’. Now you’d think I was jumping for joy after all the pain we’d suffered but the first thing I felt was relief and the second thing I felt was fear. But we had to focus and I decided we needed to do absolutely everything in our power to keep his baby. I then remembered that the consultant had promised me progesterone so I called his office and demanded the prescription was written straight away so I could start taking them that night and finally I contacted Lianne and she scheduled me in immediately for early pregnancy support with acupuncture. It was on.

I saw Lianne and we talked through the plan and decided I would see her twice a week until around the 9 week mark and since the hospital wouldn’t scan me until I was 6 weeks I was thankful to have Lianne. She gave me advice on how to stay relaxed and reassured me every step of the way.

Every time I went to see her she was positive and always listened to me and how I was feeling. We didn’t know what to think or how things were going to turn out but she was there for us and when we made it to 6 weeks she was so happy for us.

Finally we made it to 9 weeks and we started to relax some more and tell family and friends. At last we had good news for them.

Right now I’m 27 weeks and loving every minute of being pregnant again. We’re backwards and forwards to the hospital more than the average bear but that just provides us with more reassurance and we have faith that everything will work our this time for us and our little girl.

Every day we miss her brother and always will and the dark times that followed tested our strength in ways we never knew existed but we are still here and able to tell our story so far. We can only continue to have hope that the final outcome will be a happy one.

After losing our son we thought we could never move forward and the need to still create a family was so great that I know we couldn’t have got this far without Lianne. She is everything a person trying for a baby needs at some point during the process; not just physically with the acupuncture treatments but mentally as another human being who is willing to help and not dismiss you as a freak of nature who can’t do the basics.

She is the happy medium between a private clinic and the NHS as she can provide you with treatment yet be realistic in her approach from a medical and holistic point of view. For us she is the best of both worlds and a genius of her profession. We are forever grateful.

Maria - How Lianne Aquilina of Aquilia Fertility Helped Me

22/10/15
Two years after having my first son I was anxious to get pregnant again. We had been trying for about six months before I went to see Lianne. I was aware that I was unlikely to become pregnant as I was breastfeeding and I hadnt got my periods back, and I was not ovulating. Someone suggested having acupuncture as a way of kick-starting my menstrual cycle again. I felt a change after my first acupuncture treatment with Lianne and began ovulating even though I continued to breastfeed. Lianne was then able to tell me when my fertile time would be and treat me to maximise conception happening. Within 3 months and after 6 acupuncture treatments I am very pleased to say that I'm pregnant. I can not thank Lianne enough!

Claire - How Lianne Aquilina of Aquilia Fertility & IVF Helped Me

21/09/15
There I was in my late thirties trying for a baby. Never before did I think we would have problems falling pregnant. A couple of years later, after being diagnosed with unexplained infertility, I was undergoing my first IVF treatment. Unfortunately it failed.

We continued trying to conceive naturally, I didn't want to undergo another cycle of IVF and I was 43 years old by now. One day I read an article about Lianne and her work and we decided to give it a go. When we first met Lianne we felt at ease with her and I felt that I could trust her. Lianne referred us for a second view and we found that I had extensive scarring to my tubes, not unexplained infertility. Lianne used her fertility knowledge and the information I provided her with about me and my lifestyle and my failed IVF cycle to help us get from the sad place of childlessness to being pregnant with twins after our second attempt to IVF.

Lianne has always been very supportive and has gone the extra-mile. Her support and advice has been priceless especially before and after egg collection and at transfer. We had our 6 blastocysts frozen due to complications based on the advice she gave to give us the best chance of IVF working and it did.

The 2 weeks wait was made much easier to bear when Lianne lent me a relaxation CD especially designed for this stage of the treatment. Lianne has always been at the other end of the line when I have had concerns about how things are going.

Thank you so much Lianne.